Life Through a Lens: Brazilian Grand Prix

Life Through A Lens: Brazilian Grand Prix

Mark Sutton talks ESPN through his favourite shots from the dramatic Brazilian Grand Prix.

Collision Course

Camera – Nikon D5 body | Lens – Nikkor 200-400mm F4 | Shutter speed – 1/1000th of a second | Aperture – F5.6 | ISO – 1600

I was at Turn 10, the hairpin, but I kept seeing people crash and thought ‘I’m in the wrong place here’. So I moved up the circuit and it’s honestly mindblowing how quick they are going in the rain, pulling out of the spray of other cars. I was just photographing the photographers standing trackside and then saw Massa have a moment at the top of the corner. He clipped the barrier and I just kept shooting — I had the 400 on so it was a bit tight. When he hit the barrier it was more frontal, so it was a bit of the front wing came off. I didn’t really see what happened after that — I just knew I had to get the wide angle on for the next shots of him getting out of the car.

Massa’s Final Farewell

 Camera – Nikon D5 body | Lens – 70-200mm F2.8 | Shutter speed – 1/500th of a second | Aperture – F5.6 | ISO – 1600

This was a walk of emotion, coming out of the car and waving to the crowd over the barrier. Then one of the marshals gave him a flag and I thought ‘well, that’s the shot,’ as he walked away. I couldn’t get any closer because that was the track, he actually shouldn’t have been where he was but it created a great picture. I could see the flag was floating above his head so I was waiting for a shot of when I could see his face. When I first sent these back at the media centre I was in such a rush I don’t think I sent the best shot from this sequence, I sent one where you can’t see his face.

I was changing lenses in the rain and it was a rush, to be honest. You’re waiting for those moments to happen and when they do you have a smile on your face in the background, you just go with it. There was still the rest of the race to finish so you have to focus on your job.

Rain Delay

Camera – Nikon D5 body | Lens – Nikkor 70-200 F2.8 | Shutter speed – 1/320th of a second | Aperture – F11 | ISO – 1600

The rain delay made for a chaotic afternoon. The race was on-again off-again several times and it made it chaotic. One good shot to come from it was the train of cars behind the safety car. It’s not often you get this sort of shot in a race — there’s obviously the formation lap, but this had the added benefit of the spray, creating a good picture.

Because of the chaos of the race I missed Marcus Ericsson’s crash as I had been positioned elsewhere on the circuit.

20 Down, One To Go

Camera – Nikon D5 body | Lens – Nikkor 200-400mm F4 | Shutter Speed – 1/640th of a second | Aperture – F6.3 | ISO – 1000

This was a good shot between Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg on the podium. Often in these last few years we haven’t seen much between them in the last few seasons when they’ve been up there, it’s often tense and they sometimes act like the other one isn’t there. This has been the story of the season, they’ve been fighting all year. I think whoever wins they will hug each other and shake hands and say the best man one. I think there’s more respect evident between them this year than in previous years.

Leave a Reply

